Caribbean Journal of Philosophy



Conference Notice: Cave Hill Philosophy Symposium (CHiPS) 2020

Conversations XV: Language – Uses and Misuses

April 22 - 24, 2020

Hosted by the Department of History and Philosophy, Faculty of Humanities and Education
The University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, Barbados

Conference Notice: Conference on Caliban's Reason: 20 Years Strong

Conference Theme:

“Caliban, Knowledge Societies, Caribbean and Global African Development”

Broadly conceived, this Conference will celebrate the milestone of Caliban’s Reason as an awakening of the Philosophical genius of the Caribbean peoples and subalterns globally, both in the struggles, the breakthroughs and the visionary pathways that this region has been able to engineer for peoples of the region and global marginalized, dispossessed and disempowered. In this regard, the development of African Philosophies, African Diaspora Philosophies and other non-European Philosophies will be celebrated in their liberating efforts, as antecedents, antithesis and dissolution mechanisms to Greco-European pretensions to singularity of humanity. Discourses and interrogations around such aspects of the intellectual histories, developments of civilizations, sciences, technologies, religions of humans in ancient Americas, Africa and the Caribbean post-plantation, post-emancipation, post-colonial and within the contexts of globalized hegemonies and resistances are welcome

Scholarship and Awards: Vice Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Research Accomplishments

Professor John Ayotunde (Tunde) Isola Bewaji was recipient of UWI Vice Chancellor's Award - Research Accomplishments - for 2017-2018. More...

Conference Notice: 25th International Society for African Philosophy and Studies (ISAPS) Annual Conference, 2019

African Philosophy and Development

Venue: Mississippi State University, Starkiville, Mississippi, USA

Date: July 9 and 10, 2019

Theme: African Philosophy and Development

Conference Organizers: Dr. Anthony Sean Neal, Prof. Edwin Etieyibo, Dr. John Bickle, Dr. Andrea Spain, Dr. Donald Shaffer.

ISAPS executive: Prof. Joseph Agbakoba (President); Prof. Edwin Etieyibo (Secretary/Treasurer)

Scholarship and Awards: 2016 Outstanding Research and Scholarship Award

2016 Outstanding Research and Scholarship Award (Late Notice, but worth Noting) More...
More Announcements...

Vol 10, No 1 (2018)

Table of Contents

Editorial Remark

Editorial PDF
John Ayotunde (Tunde) Isola BEWAJI

Notices, News and Noteworthy

Abiola Irele: A Tribute to the Master PDF
Odia Ofieimun
Ali A. Mazrui (1933-2014) - A Tribute PDF
Toyin Falola
ISIDORE OKPEWHO: Scribal Lord of Orature (November 9, 1941- September 4, 2016) PDF
Odia Ofieimun
Tribute to Professor Ivan Van Sertima PDF
Runoko Rashidi
Types of Academics and Other Kinds of Intellectuals PDF
Lewis Ricardo Gordon